Australian Armidale Class Problems

fred henderson
19th February 2007, 12:51
It seems that the new Australian designed and built Armidale Class Patrol Boats are having some basic engineering difficulties.
In September 2006 the entire class was "grounded" because of noxious fumes that hospitalised four sailors. After a month of investigation and rectification it was announced that the problem was caused by water contamination in the fuel system of three boats. After redesign of the engineering controls the boats were returned to service in October 2006.
The problem has not been solved however, with continued contamination of the main engine fuel system that has led to subsequent fuel pump failures. The RAN has re-instated operational restrictions on the patrol boat fleet until further notice.

Fred

Jan Hendrik
5th March 2007, 06:45
I am not an expert on naval vessels. The photos here show two naval vessels berthed alongside Station Pier in Melbourne today.
I was quite surprised that the larger vessel (06) needed the assistance of two huge harbour tugboats to move her from the quay.
The last photo shows her moving out under her own steam.
Do not understand the waste of money to get this assistance and I wonder how they manage in case of war…..
Jan

Brian Twyman
5th March 2007, 08:31
Hi Jan
Ship 06 is HMAS Newcastle, Guided Missile Frigate.
Ship 87 is HMAS Yarra. Minehunter.

(Not for a Kiwi to answer your questions !! ) [=P]

Brian

Jan Hendrik
5th March 2007, 08:40
Thanks for that Brian.
There was another posting in the Gallery by SeaDog today from practically the same spot.
Perhaps we were standing next to each other taking the photos....
Jan

fred henderson
6th March 2007, 13:01
Newcastle is one of 6 American "Oliver Hazard Perry" class serving in the Royal Australian Navy. Four were built in USA and the last two, including Newcastle were built in Williamstown.