British Builder

tugger
11th March 2007, 07:52
Hi all.
This is my first attempt at a post so here goes.
I just read in the BP list about the British Builder being towed from Aus to Sunderland. I joined the Builder in Newcastle-on -tyne, out of dry dock, on Nov 1955,after she had been repaired. Was away for twelve months,paying off in Sep 56. As we didn't break down in that time they must have done a pretty good job in the dry dock. The trip convinced me to emigrate, I did two trips on the East coasters while waiting to come to NZ, where I went on the coast with the Union Co .
Cheers Tugger

ruud
11th March 2007, 11:08
Ahoy.
Here the BUILDER

HENNEGANOL
11th March 2007, 11:48
One of the striking features of this photograph are the awning spars. If I remember correctly all the ships of this vintage and earlier, were capable of rigging double awnings when in the warmer climes. However I can never remember them being fully utilised, as I recall only single awnings were occasionaly rigged.

Gerry.

R58484956
11th March 2007, 17:26
MV British Builder 8699 tons ,Built 03/1951 by Wm Doxford & Sons Ltd, Sunderland. 469.6 x 62.0 x 33.9. 4 cylinder diesel built by Wm Doxford. DF,ESD, GyC, Radar. Code flags GCCL. Machinery aft. Cruiser stern.
Registered London, British flag. Carrying petroleum in bulk.Owned by British Tanker Co Ltd.

John_F
11th March 2007, 17:52
One of the striking features of this photograph are the awning spars. If I remember correctly all the ships of this vintage and earlier, were capable of rigging double awnings when in the warmer climes. However I can never remember them being fully utilised, as I recall only single awnings were occasionaly rigged.

Gerry.
Gerry,