Introduction and 1st question

meechingman
20th February 2005, 23:48
Hi, I'm a a newbie to this forum, as if you hadn't guessed!

My late father was captain of the UK tug Meeching. Does anyone know of her current whereabouts or have any photos of her after 2003? Love to see some.
(//))

John Rogers
20th February 2005, 23:57
Welcome to the board. Some one will be along that will have an answer. OS

Ron B Manderson
21st February 2005, 08:08
See my gallery
she was sitting at tower bridge last july 2004
If thats the one and you wish a proper photograph gives and email address and I send it to you .

Ron

meechingman
21st February 2005, 12:56
Thanks. I'd love the photo. email is andy.gilbert@virgin.net (:D)

awateah2
21st February 2005, 17:09

My late father was captain of the UK tug Meeching. Does anyone know of her current whereabouts or have any photos of her after 2003? Love to see some.
(//))
Was his name Bob Domin ??

meechingman
21st February 2005, 23:29
Hi

No, my father was Frank Gilbert. Bob served with dad as Relief Master for some years and then took over as Senior Master when dad retired in '79. Bob had her till Sealink 'retired' her in 2000. Bob died a couple of years back and my father about a year ago. Only a couple of 'original' crew left, I'm afraid?
Did you know my Dad?

awateah2
22nd February 2005, 01:02
No, sorry didn't know your dad but knew Bob very well but unfortunately he too has passed away. I know the Tug is still around and looks in good order. Did you know Bob Patterson, Chief Engineer ?

meechingman
22nd February 2005, 13:32
Yes, I knew the whole crew in the 60's and 70's. Bob Patterson lived next door to my brother, an engineer on the ferries. I spent most of my school hols on board the tug! Learnt a heck of a lot about 'tug-manship' and did a lot of supervised towing in and around the harbour.