Heresy! Dickie tug boat conversion!

ddraigmor
14th May 2007, 17:47
Can some of you more expert modellers assist a raw beginner?

I have just purchased a Simba-Dickie / Hen Long model tugnoat that I was inspired to have a crack at after reading the conversions on Model Boat Mayhem. As an absolute beginner, I was impressed by the basic kit and its capacity to be converted into something that would fill the gap between expert and raw beginner.

However, I am aware that she needs a complete new prop / propshaft / coupling, speed controller, servo and possibly TX/RX set. The site gives great info but is still a bit tech for me. For eg, I want to cut the waterpump right out of her and save the juice for towing! Eek, how do I do that?

More details on here: http://www.modelboatmayhem.co.uk/My_models/31%20Dickie.htm

If you look at the title 'Best Conversion Ever' - you will see what loosely have in mind.

My question is: Are there 50mm 4 bladed props and shafts available that will slot straight in via the stuffing tube and allow hook up to the dog bone connector using the standard motor (which is aparently quite good)

I plan to use 1/48th fittings to enhance the boat, repaint her in Smit colours, re-name her etc - and while I am on additions, anyone know where I can get hold of a Hiab type hydraulic crane in this scale to replace the monster on the afterdeck?

I know you purists will say it is heresy but as an absolute beginner I want the confidence to start somewhere and I have looked and looked but nothing appeared to grab me until I saw this.

Help appreciated!

Jonty

nhp651
14th May 2007, 21:03
Hi jonty, just looked at the model you are talking about.