Pilot Error

Ventry
8th June 2007, 20:37
There must be many Ship Masters out there with a tale to tell.
Last year we had three grounding of fully laden tankers at the entrance to the Liffey. I understand the same Pilot was responsible for two. Fortunately, no pollution. How often as Master has a Pilot been responsible for damage through shear incompetence and smiled and said ' Have you a docking bottle Captain. Views on the Pilotage Act welcome.

This is duplicated as I initially posted it in 'Say Hello'

kottemann
8th June 2007, 20:41
Another touchy subject Venners old boy lot of Pilots use this forum

Ventry
8th June 2007, 22:21
Never known to shy away from confrontation!

duquesa
8th June 2007, 23:09
Nobody is perfect - not even Ship's Masters!
In 25 years as a pilot I never once asked for a docking bottle. In the very early years there were those that did. None of my colleagues in the last three decades would have dreamt of it. Had we done so and been reported, the consequences would have been severe.
There are few pilots and masters who have gone through their careers without a mishap at some time. To have two or three incidents would be unfortunate and no doubt have been thoroughly examined. I see no mileage in this thread except to muck rake and to what end exactly!

notnila
8th June 2007, 23:44
After reading this and other threads,is there anyone that Ventry doesn't dislike.He's already shot down Unions,now lets get"" stuck into "Pilots!!!Come on man,there must be something that you like.

Geoff Garrett
8th June 2007, 23:50
Well Ventry,
You're not making yourself very popular with this thread are you?

Peter4447
9th June 2007, 00:08
"When in danger with no room to turn, ease her, stop her, go astern"

Peter4447(A)

duquesa
9th June 2007, 08:15
Indeed so. I've said my piece and well within my comfort zone on this one.
I'm out. Have a good day.

non descript
9th June 2007, 08:33