Papayanni ships 1962 to 1965

papayanni
25th June 2007, 19:24
Hi all,
I was an apprentice on the following Papayanni ships from 1962 to 1965:-
1.Almerian (re-named City of Leeds for trip to Borneo under Bucknall flag)
2. Venetian
3. Egyptian (re-named City of Leicester, to Borneo again)
4. Sicilian

Anyone out there who might have pictures of any of these, of might have been there at the same time?

non descript
25th June 2007, 20:45
Papayanni, a nice introductory first posting, well done and a warm welcome to you. Thank you for joining the community; enjoy the site and all it has to offer and we very much look forward to your postings. Bon Voyage.

baileybloke
25th June 2007, 21:20
Hi Papayanni, welcome to SN. You are several years before my time with Ellermans but I can send you pictures of all your old ships when I get to work tomorrow.

baileybloke
26th June 2007, 09:39
Hi Papayanni,

Your pictures as promised. I hope they bring back some good memories for you.

R58484956
26th June 2007, 14:21
Greetings Papayanni and welcome to SN. enjoy the site and bon voyage.

papayanni
26th June 2007, 15:24
Many thanks!

papayanni
26th June 2007, 15:29
Hi baileybloke,
Thanks so much for the wonderful photos. Amazing how quickly you laid your hands on them. Good memories, for sure, they were interesting times, and all these ships had been sold within months of me leaving Ellerman & Papayanni in 1965, (don't think it was anything I did!), so definitely the end of an era, so I count myself lucky to have been able to sail on ships that were part of an MN which was about to disappear forever.

el_scripto
7th October 2007, 18:59
Hi all,
I was an apprentice on the following Papayanni ships from 1962 to 1965:-
1.Almerian (re-named City of Leeds for trip to Borneo under Bucknall flag)
2. Venetian
3. Egyptian (re-named City of Leicester, to Borneo again)
4. Sicilian

Anyone out there who might have pictures of any of these, of might have been there at the same time?