GMDSS - opinions please..............

sparkie2182
13th August 2007, 00:21
as a former radio officer, i would be interested in the views of members who have had experience in the g.m.d.s.s. system, including adequacy of training.

Steve Woodward
13th August 2007, 02:20
The C/O on my ship slipped whilst leaning on the GMDSS desk and accidentally put his elbow through the safety cover on the Distress transmit button, a message then apeared on a computer screen " do you wish to cancell this message - Yes or No" sadly not quite getting this he pushed no thinking it meant no dont send the distress.
We were in the Med and he woke up most of the bloody world - it took from 0800 till late in the afternoon to answer every MRCC that we were in fact OK and that it was a simple misunderstanding.

Ivor Lloyd
13th August 2007, 08:47
As another former radio officer .
Please what is g.m.d.s.s
Ivor

RayJordandpo
13th August 2007, 08:51
Only my humble opinion but I think GMDSS has not proved to be the success they were hoping for. In my experience nobody seems to take it seriously. When the alarm goes off everyone rushes to acknowledge it without really checking it out properly. You can always tell when it's Sunday, alarms going off all day long caused by watchkeepers doing their checks and pressing the wrong button!
To be quite honest I (like many deck officers) aren't truly interested in the radio side of my duties and frankly find it a bit of a chore. At least in pre GMDSS days we took an interest in listening to 2182 and jumped on anyone transmitting during silence periods. As far as the course is concerned it was two weeks of sheer boredom (and confusion) for me. No wonder the failure rate was high in the early nineties. In my class of eight at Hulll Tech. four failed including one radio officer, God knows how I passed.
I know it will never happen but as far as I am concerned they should bring back radio operators.
Ray Jordan

gdynia
13th August 2007, 09:01