making pictures available on XP browsing

treeve
10th September 2007, 11:50
Hello,
another problem with XP ...
Having now checked out my website (with an update
on one of the ships) I find that I cannot see my own
pictures, or any graphics, in IE. I was asked by someone
else as to why these are not available, so it is not just
me ... so much easier in ME for that matter.

Please can anyone offer any advice, as it is important
for me to be able to check to see if pages are showing
as they should.

Windows firewall even attempted to block my FTP access
to the freepages site .... duh!

Not a lot of hair remaining on the pate ...

Best Wishes, Raymond

hawkey01
10th September 2007, 12:00
Treeve,

are you getting a cross to say the picture is not available. Have you changed your security level?
I use XP but never experienced that problem. Have you tried holding down the control key when you hit enter, I have set my system at above medium level and sometimes I have to use that to access pictures etc.
Hawkey01

treeve
10th September 2007, 12:08
Hi Hawkeye,
No not even a picture marker on the page. It all worked under ME.
I have only just been dropped into XP, because my previous PC
collapsed with write errors. The new set up is a bit of a hill climb.
I have the box ticked in the security levels to allow pictures.
A Miss Terry.

hawkey01
10th September 2007, 12:16
Raymond,
strange I have never had any trouble with XP when using FTP etc. Will have a think and see if I can come up with anything. Maybe one of the wiz computer guys will jump in and help.
Hawkey01

K urgess
10th September 2007, 12:22
Does the browser come up with "this site......scripted windows" or some such under the toolbar?
You have to watch the little messages that come up with IE7. Very easy to miss.

Kris

treeve
10th September 2007, 12:23
Thanks ... there has to be a setting somewhere that I have missed.
If it was not for the fact that I had a query from someone else,
(I would like to be able to pass on any advice to hime as well).
I would have been reminded of that book ...
"Is it me or is everything Sh*t"
Raymond

hawkey01
10th September 2007, 12:23
Have you checked in internet options to see if various fields are ticked and available ie ftp and under multi media for pictures. On the control panel and look for internet options.
Neville - Hawkey01

treeve
10th September 2007, 12:32
Hi Kris .. there are no messages from IE.
Hi Neville, Just checked, and all ticked for FTP and Pictures.
Could this be something to to with ActiveX or Java, whatever
they are?

K urgess
10th September 2007, 12:46
Have you had a look in the "manage add-ons" tab under "tools".
You normally get asked if you want a site to run an active x control when it loads.
Java should come up under "add-ons" above. There's been a lot of furore over Microsoft nicking Sun's java code and I'm not sure if it comes as standard anymore or you have to look for the "add-on".
I notice you can't click and copy the pictures on your website so it may have something to do with the way it's written and configuring IE.
'Fraid I can't help much more. I've been using this machine for so long that I've completely forgotten all the little adjustments I've made in the past.

Cheers
Kris

treeve
10th September 2007, 12:54
Thanks Kris ... I will have a looksee.
I have set everything as I used to under ME, so this is an XP issue.

The "save as" does not work with XTML pages.
It's not a "security" block-out on my part.
You can, of course, open the subfolder and download them direct.
If anyone wants a picture, just write to me and I'll email.

Best Wishes, Raymond

K urgess
10th September 2007, 13:00
Maybe the XTML is your answer, Raymond.

Look on the net for a Microsoft knowledge base document abut XTML. I've usually found that a google for "Can't see pictures on websites using internet explorer" or similair will come up with something.

Wasn't looking to copy just to see if there was anything special about your pages that may need special settings. Must admit to not knowing an awful lot about HTML or XTML or whatever. It may not be an IE issue. It could be something to do with XP settings in control panel although I would have no idea as to where to look.

Cheers
Kris

treeve
10th September 2007, 13:10
Hi Kris, thanks again ... yours and Neville's input led me to
check out again and now I have (temporarily) set for
Low Security and Hey Presto ... the pages are now loading
properly, complete with markers before the images appear.
The problem was, that this new PC did not function correctly
on first use, I re-set again to factory state, still problems ..
would not even open a web page at all. Currys just sent a chap
to my home, and sorted it all out. Over an hour it took him.
Thanks again - Best Wishes, Raymond

benjidog
10th September 2007, 22:23
Bloody Hell Raymond - you must have got the only Curry's engineer that isn't totally clueless. Must be your lucky day!

Brian

treeve
11th September 2007, 00:22
I have to say that he was so very courteous and helpful.
Not only that but he really knew what he was talking about.
When I first got the PC and booted up, it seemed sluggish,
then I discovered that not one of the websites opened in
IE. So, after much hair tearing, I decided the re-install to
factory state. But still the same problem. To cut a long
story short, the cabs files had been incorrectly opened.
IE was being confused by the system and by the windows
firewall with Windows Explorer ... not unnaturally it would
not work as there is no protocol for using WE on the net.
What gave me the clue was that Google Toolbar simply
would not stay on the bar. No matter how many times I
installed it. The engineer sorted it and it is now the
proverbial sweet nut. Best Wishes, Raymond.