Radio Callsigns

Wainui
3rd April 2005, 06:18
Ahoy there,
I am an ex Radio Officer now residing in New Zealand. I have sailed on a total of 18 UK ships and I am trying to remember some of their Radio Callsigns for my scrap book. Can anyone help please.
Cheers.

John Leary
3rd April 2005, 17:55
Hi

I have a copy of her Majesty's Stationery Office book from 1963 which lists all of the Signal Letters of United Kingdom and Commonwealth Ships that were afloat in that year. Like you as an ex RO I was interested in the call-signs of all of the Ships of the company that I sailed with. If any of the ships of interest to you were around in 1963 let me know and I will look them up for you.
Best wishes

John Leary

david smith
3rd April 2005, 22:14
I see the new Lloyds Shipping Index (LSI) includes all callsigns. My old April 1980 does not. Callsigns changed as ships changed owners or port of registry.

I have an old (1940) "Stand-By" Nautical Telegraph and Radio Code. This coded telegrams into five lettered sections and reduced the cost of messaging - how impersonal! Similarities to sms on mobile phones nowadays. I suppose we could all revert to the Q codes!

I remember reducing text and confusing Lands End Radio when using Telex over radio in the 80's.
Life as we knew it!

smokey
4th April 2005, 02:53
[B]YOu need a copy of the ITU list of ship stations..... Smokey

smokey
4th April 2005, 03:03
Do you of any radio station still transmitting on the 500khz band? Think there is one left maybe in California..... Smokey

Wainui
11th April 2005, 06:31
Hi again,
Sorry for the delay in responding. Here are the some of the ships that I require the Radio Callsigns for my scrap book. Most of them were commissioned in the early 1960s.

TREMORVAH
LA SELVA
CORBEACH
THAMESWOOD
WESTMEATH
GLAISDALE
LETITIA
KEPWICKHALL
HAMINEA
GOTHLAND
ESSO EXETER
MANCHESTER SHIPPER
JOURNALIST

All U.K. registered ships. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

stevecz
11th April 2005, 13:25