Modern Auto Pilots

mikeg
8th October 2007, 11:25
The thread about 'Iron Mike' highlighted some of the early and not always successful attempts at building a reliable and accurate autopilot.

Today with the high cost of bunkers poor steering ability will enevitably cost money. Many autopilots are now very complex with a variety of sensor interfaces such as the Gyrocompass, Magnetic or fluxgate Compass, GPS Receiver, Log and sometimes also Sea temperature, GPS receiver, ECDIS for track control and even a anemometer input.

I know its not a nostalgia question but I would be interested to know if, considering all those inputs and complexity, the reliablity and steering accuracy has in real terms really been achieved?

Mike
(Not Iron Mike) (Jester)

G0SLP
8th October 2007, 17:42
It seems that there is too much complexity built into modern machinery.

People are shocked when things fail these days, but as an Engineer I'm always amazed when things work (*))

mikeg
8th October 2007, 18:27
I agree, over complexity just requires a skilled technician to fix it. I wonder if the sea-going techs are kept up to date with the latest technology i.e. manufacturers courses, company paid training etc?

Mike

Moulder
8th October 2007, 20:03
I remember on one of Jebsens small North Sea bulkies - mv Clydenes - we had a Decca Auto-Pilot (can't remember the model). Must have been an inherent design fault allowing too much voltage across the command relay contacts (should have been limited to 24 volts but was far in excess of this).
After a couple of voyages they started "pitting" (build up of carbon deposits due to sparking) - then, you've guessed it - one day in a fjord the starboard relay got stuck - sent a voltage down to the steering gear and away we went, merrily merrily in a starb'd circle!!

I never trusted an auto-pilot for many years after that.

Steve.
(Thumb)

James_C
8th October 2007, 20:34