Carriage of Grain in Tankers

tacho
28th October 2007, 19:49
I read recently that grain was sometimes carried in Oil Tankers. Is this true? And if so how where the tanks cleaned between cargos?

non descript
28th October 2007, 19:55
I have no direct knowledge from onboard, but yes, tankers did find themselves pressed into service for the carriage of grain, as it was not an impossible task to clean the tanks and load relatively clean and dry grain into relatively clean dry tanks. The idea was not to switch from Oil to Grain at a momentís notice, but more to follow a trend in the market and if the Freight Rate made the switch worthwhile, then it was commercial reasonable to move from Oil to Dry.

fred henderson
28th October 2007, 20:23
I remember a retired Shell Captain telling me that during WW2 he was appointed as Mate to a new tanker completing in Sunderland and they loaded fresh water for Gibraltar. He thought it was great as it took several weeks to fill the tanks from the town supply! He said that there were more servicemen and visiting ships in Gib than the water catchment system could supply and it was standard practice to use tankers that had not yet loaded oil.

Fred(Thumb)

non descript
28th October 2007, 20:28
The carriage of Fresh Water in tankers on their maiden voyages is echoed here (http://www.shipsnostalgia.com/showthread.php?t=6975) where the Beauval performed such a trip.
Mark

Pilot mac
28th October 2007, 20:31
I was doubled up alongside a tanker in Karachi in 1975 and she was discharging grain. Cleaning I imagine could be a long job if done by hand but I would think a decent tank washing system may cope with the worst of it.

regards
Dave

demodocus
28th October 2007, 21:15
As I recall there was a whole class of vessels constructed in the 70's called OBO's (Ore Bulk Oil) with a view to eliminating the ballast leg or introducing a profitable 3rd leg in oil conracts. Mostly disappeared in the 80's.

tunatownshipwreck
28th October 2007, 21:19