SS United States

sydney heads
10th February 2008, 11:29
Hi all!
I am currently building a 1-400 model of the United States from a Glencoe kit.
Work is progressing slowly at the moment for two reasons.
1- The main deck mould is badly warped, and I've had several attempts to straighten it without success. As I am only a novice, can I get some advice as to how I may fix it from someone in the know? I am surprised how thick the components are in this kit.
2- With so few colour photos, and no indication on the very basic Glencoe instruction sheet, can anyone tell me what colour the ship's decks were?
Any advice most welcome!
Cheers John.

Jim MacIntyre
10th February 2008, 19:51
John
I'll leave question 1) to the experts.
Deck colour - following are excerpts from a recent article by a member of a movie production team allowed on board to prepare a documentary film on teh old girl...
'The forecastle located in front of the bridge and once in several layers of protective green paint is almost completely caked in rust'
'Unlike the wood decks of old liners the decks of the S S United States were metal, coated with a durable green macadam-like walking surface, once again part of her designers intention of creating a completely fireproof vessel'
Cheers
Jim Mac

sydney heads
11th February 2008, 07:06
Thanks Jim, a most interesting description, not to mention highly interesting historical note.
Cheers John.

Jim MacIntyre
13th February 2008, 19:18
John
See you're not getting much back on the warped deck. My guess would be heat of some sort - blast it with a hairdryer or heat it (carefully) in the oven until it is pliable enough to straighten out the warp. Alternatively if the warp has not totally distorted the deck try using a fast setting glue and hold it in place somehow until it has set up.
Jim Mac

sydney heads
14th February 2008, 06:27
Hi Jim.
Once again thanks for your thoughts. I think the hairdryer idea is well worth pursuing.