Small models of large ships

Shipbuilder
12th February 2008, 07:59
I have been building model ships for some time now, but have noticed the decline and almost extinction of detailed scratchbuilding of large ships to small scales and wonder why this is. I admire large models very much, but most people simply do not have the space to store them and they take an awful lot of time, expense & effort to build. My latest miniature is approaching completion after about 60 hours work spread over a little more than a month. The total cost of the materials is virtually nil. The greatest expense is the glue and acrylic for the display case. Everything is hand-built & the masts and rigging are 100% metal, being a combination of brass & copper rod & fine copper wire.
http://img139.imageshack.us/img139/8638/ontheworkbenchlargezw5.jpg

nhp651
12th February 2008, 08:30
I think, as a model ship builder myself of 45 years trials and tribulations, ( and I'm still learning), that what you do, and build, shipbuilder is a true art.
sadly this art is one of many years experience honed to perfection, and with so many manufacturers these days offering kits "that can be built to exhibition standard" so the quotes go on the merchandising, modellers new to the game choose the kit for building.
and there is the added advantage that r/c equipment is so cheep these days that the mass modeller is able to sail their creation as well.
sadly it's this quick fix/build society that we live in that wants the model here and NOW, and the majority of "newby model builders" just don't want to spend years and years honing new skills when they can build from off the shelf!

Shipbuilder
12th February 2008, 10:01