Rules-of-the-road dilemma

bobs
22nd February 2008, 00:42
Although I worked in the shipping industry, I was never a professional mariner but nearly all my colleagues had been. As a result of that, in the pub after work I was always seen as a bit of a sucker for sailors' yarns. My question is based on one of these.

So: you are OoW on a VLCC or ULCC. You are in mid-ocean when you see, dead ahead and coming straight towards you the US Navy Nth Fleet. They are steaming at high speed in three of four columns abreast, spread out over quite a distance.

Do you:
1) Alter course to starboard so as to leave them all to port, even though that might mean quite a deviation for your less-than-highly-manoeuvrable vessel?

or do you:

2) set a course between the columns of naval ships and give them a cheery wave (or wrong-way-round Churchillian salute) on either side as you pass?

or

3) since they are much more manoeuvrable than you, stand on and let the Navy sort themselves out and stay clear of you?

I know what my old colleague did (or at least in his yarn, says he did) but what would be the right way by the rules of the road?

Gavin Gait
22nd February 2008, 00:45
I would think ,and could be wrong , that as a VLCC/ULCC would have restricted ability to maneuver due to the shear size of them that the Navy ships would have to get out of the way

K urgess
22nd February 2008, 00:47
Ah but the US Navy give way to no-one.
You've seen the advert I suppose.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bkt_jXHm6u0

Derbyroy
22nd February 2008, 01:17
HaHa this smacks of the old US navy Verus the Lighthouse ...gag.
Merchant vessels are by all international laws entitled to free and unrestricted acess to international waters...regardless of their size or tonnage,
therefore the US fleet being a nation powers war machine would /should be required to avoid the conflict..(the Italians always did) avoid the war that is ...

John Briggs
22nd February 2008, 02:51