Stokers & trimmers

thunderd
24th May 2005, 01:05
Last night whilst browsing on the net I came across a couple of brief articles on stokers and trimmers, they were mainly about people on warships but I would imagine they would operate similarly on merchant ships.

I never sailed on a ship that burned coal so I've had no experience but I doubt I could imagine a less glamorous job. Imagine during the war on a stormy Atlantic convoy, in the bowells of a defenceless merchant ship, the heat and dust and the expectancy of a torpedo coming through the side at any moment. That and a world without rum would have to be my vision of hell.

They must have been very strong physically and mentally. I would like to read more about these men can anybody steer me to a web site where I can learn more about them.

thunderd
24th May 2005, 01:40
Apparently they were also known as the black hole gang, many thanks for the reference Zelda

thunderd
24th May 2005, 03:14
Exactly as I'd imagined the conditions, what a wonderful description, you could almost see the picture.

Doug Rogers
24th May 2005, 04:00
And which reminds me of the song "A'firing the Mauretania" which says it all about the black gang down below..certainly very tough individuals in every respect to have stood the rigours of the job.

thunderd
24th May 2005, 05:56
Don't know the song Doug could you hum it for me please?

Doug Rogers
24th May 2005, 06:48
Did you catch it Derek??

24th May 2005, 07:59
You could read 'The Death Ship' by Ben Traven. It was written in 1926. Forget the Boy's Own" , ring to the title, originally written in German, it is recognised as a classic.

Dave

Burwah
24th May 2005, 11:50
There were still a few coal burning ships on the Oz Coast in the early 60's. One, the SS Balarr was owned by Australian Steamships Pty. It was one of the River Class built at Whyalla after the war.