Advice needed

fishcake
26th March 2008, 11:56
I'm presently in the final stages of building the Billing Smit Rotterdam R/C kit.
All has gone well so far and it is looking good if I say so myself ,considering I'm no expert, but the time has come to fit the railings. The question is how is the best way to fit the supplied stanchions which are flat brass about 0.5mm thick. I have a fear that this is where I muck it up
Regards
Peter

John Gurton
26th March 2008, 18:03
I built the Zwarte Zee some years ago, trusting the decks are the same thin plywood. With a scalpel knife make a small hole in the deck for the tail of the stanchion to slot into.
good luck

miniman
28th March 2008, 12:26
Hi Peter,
Aah, the good old Billings railings!
Best way to do them is to slide all the stantions into place on the rails before bending the rails, and solder them in place. Make sure you place them into the right positions in relation to the corners though, or you'll end up with the stantions in the wrong places.
When you have them soldered in place, bend the railings to the plan view using long nosed pliers, and glue them into the pre-drilled/ slotted holes.
I know it sounds easy, and it sure aint, but careful planning and lots of time taken will be rewarding after!

Soft solder, like the normal electronic stuff is best for the brass of the rails etc.You could also make a temporary jig out of balsa to hold it all together while you solder it all up.

Good luck,
Barry

ddraigmor
28th March 2008, 14:25
Miniman's idea is great - but I used plastic round bars in my handrails. They are easy to cut close to the glued in place stanchion, very easy to bend and cheap enough to make mistakes with - unlike brass which, if you cut it too short, is usually a major headache - and then, using the edge of a scalpel heated to a nice cherry orange, slice dowards and voila! Welded into place and complete!

Just to be on the safe side I also put a drop of glue on each joint of the railings too.