Radio Operators!!?

Trevorw
2nd April 2008, 20:53
Who is responsible for the description of the Radio Room thread? "A forum for all Radio Operators etc.etc"
I thought I used to be an Officer?

Ron Stringer
2nd April 2008, 21:02
Trevor,

I think that the intention was to make the thread inclusive - not all the people on this site that operated radio equipment were on ships. There were other sorts of ships that were not Merchant ships, and they didn't carry Radio Officers. They were painted a sort of grey colour - you must know them, we used to see them tied up at the quayside in the better ports.[=P]

K urgess
2nd April 2008, 21:08
Ron's got it right, Trev.
We have foreign sparkies about, who were not all officers, and Grey Funnel line who were mostly ratings and petty officers.
So, being a site for everyone, and amateurs operators not being officers, we try to cater for everyone. (Thumb)

djmorton
3rd April 2008, 00:02
Ron,
Don't forget us Radio "Officers" who joined the Offshore Industry on Rigs where our position was identified as Radio Operator
Denis

Ron Stringer
3rd April 2008, 00:12
Ron,
Don't forget us Radio "Officers" who joined the Offshore Industry on Rigs where our position was identified as Radio Operator
Denis

Hi Denis,

Those 'lucky' people on rigs were included in the bit about not all being on ships. Couldn't forget them - my visits to Mr Cap - from Stockton, Sea Gem, Staflo and Sedco 135F - from Aberdeen and Sumburgh (can't remember the others) - were all monitored and signalled by radio operators aboard the rigs. Back in the days when the choppers had such a short range that before you got to the rig, you had enough fuel to reach the rig but not enough to get back to the land. 'Point of No Return' was guaranteed to raise the hairs on the back of your neck. You relied on the guys aboard to monitor your progress and to take action should any emergency arise.

benjidog
3rd April 2008, 00:40