Homebrew Electronics by ex Radio Officers

Shipbuilder
29th April 2008, 08:44
I think most radio officers in their time dabbled in electronic construction projects. What have you built in the past (or even recently)?
Having purchased a few sheets of aluminium on a car boot sale last year (with nothing particular in mind), I later thought I would like to build a variable capacitor. This is my first attempt. Never being much good at theory, it was all guesswork. The vanes were semicircular, but I offset the spindle in a vague attempt at "square law." The size of the vanes were decided purely on the physical size that I wanted the completed capacitor to be.
The end plates were made from acrylic. The brass quarter inch spindle & bushes were made on my small Unimat lathe. After a lot of messing about, it was finally assembled. On putting the capacitance meter on it, I was delighted to see the value came out at 0 to 300pf exactly!

http://img241.imageshack.us/img241/3391/variablecapacitor300pfqj4.jpg

R651400
29th April 2008, 12:24
Posting 1 refers. Gentlemen (Gentlepersons), We're up against a real expert!!
My first attempts at homebrew failed miserably, trying to build a one valve transmitter using a non electric plumbers soldering iron! Every joint probably as dry as the proverbial.

Shipbuilder
29th April 2008, 12:36