Hello from Bodø, Norway!

jbodogaard
29th May 2008, 17:00
I'm a teacher/historian living in Bodø, a city in the nort of Norway. I'm trying to track ships with the name Bodø. Up till now I've found 10 -11, from one in 1892 till to-day's ferry Bodø, going from Bodø to Lofoten. Some of these Bodøs were engaged in foreign trade, and many of them had other names before and/or after they had the name Bodø. This makes my work a puzzle so therefore I'm now asking for help: Please inform me if you know anything about ships named Bodø!

Thank you!

Jan Oscar Bodøgaard

R58484956
29th May 2008, 17:16
Greetings Jan and a warm welcome to SN from the south of England.
Bon voyage.

James_C
29th May 2008, 17:33
Welcome Jan, and welcome aboard!
I've only been to Bodø once, that was in March 2007 when on a NATO exercise in Norway.

K urgess
29th May 2008, 17:38
Welcome aboard from northern England, Jan.
I hope our crew can help in your search.
If you search Miramar at http://www.miramarshipindex.org.nz/ using bodo without the accents you will get 8.
Explore the ship, join in and enjoy the voyage.

Steve Woodward
29th May 2008, 17:39
Jan - welcome to SN from Suffolk, enjoy your time with us, best of luck with your search
Steve

Frank P
29th May 2008, 20:11
Welcome onboard Jan, enjoy the site.
Cheers Frank

Bruce Carson
29th May 2008, 21:07
Jan, from Michigan, a warm welcome to Ships Nostalgia.
Marconi Sahib has found eight Bodos and I hope there some there that are new to you.
Good to have you onboard.

Bruce

ian d.cameron
29th May 2008, 21:51
Eight ships called Bodo and an other five with bodo in the name
http://www.miramarshipindex.org.nz/ship/list

benjidog
29th May 2008, 23:01
Welcome from Lancashire.

I hope you will enjoy the site.

Regards,

Brian

gdynia
30th May 2008, 01:42
Welcome onboard to SN and enjoy the voyage

mikeg
30th May 2008, 11:43
Jan, welcome aboard to SN.
Also in Bodø just the once on a Shell tanker. A memorable trip Bodø, Tromsø, Kirkenes.