BP fifty years in pictures

d.r.wing
6th June 2008, 20:12
I have recovered from my library a pair of books given to all BP crew members in 1959. One records the 1st 50 years in pictures all blk and wht, the other is Adventure in Oil with a forward by Winston Churchill it covers the early days of exploration by William Knox D'arcy to off shore drilling rigs in Trinidad again all pic's are black and white.There are pic's of the Anglo-Iranian staff leaving Abadan in 1951, the largest tankers pictured are 42000 tonners still with midships accommodation but the two masts are replaced by gantrys. One of them is the Br. Faith. I remember a very old Faith sister ship to the Hope they were both steam up and downers there was enough room below to hold
a large assembly, I worked on them when I was an apprentice in Falmouth Docks. Anybody else keep their books?

Graham Wallace
7th June 2008, 02:23
David ,
I still have my copy of 'BP 50 years in pictures' and I even have the slip of paper ( about 3"X5") that came with it mentioning Tuesday 14th April (1959) was the 5oth anniversary of the incorporation of British Petroleum Co Ltd. The Tanker photos from p 124/127 are Adventure,Realm,Sailor & Soldier and one other unnamed. P 128 shows the Duchess 42000 ton being launched and p 129 on trials. Some other neat pictures in the book.

Never heard of 'Adventures in oil'. or at least do not remember retaining a copy.

I was given a copy of George Kings 'A love of Ships ' a few years ago, enjoyed it immensely. Somebody found it in a UK 'Boot' sale and sent it to me.
Over 'ere we have Garage Sales and Yard Sales but no Boot Sales!

Found a copy of 'Supership' by Noel Mostert, a must read.

Graham

D Sutton
7th June 2008, 21:03
Still got my fathers copy, it also has the slip of paper

John_F
7th June 2008, 22:14
Graham,