computer problems

spongebob
30th August 2008, 09:25
I have a 3 1/2 year old Dell desk top that is on ASDL and has performed well up until recent weeks when it started to be very slow at internet down loads.
Symantic virus check shows all clear as does the spy ware check.
Using either Explorer or firefox I find that although SN site comes up with little delay any searching within the site is very slow. The same delays to other sites.
Dell suggests that at 3 1/2 years it could be a number of problems and that the quick solution is to replace the computer.The amount of stored data on the hard drive is minimal and the ram was updated to 1 GB some time ago.
I am a relative novice at this technology and I post this thread in the vague hope that some one may make a few suggestions that are not forthcoming from the local experts that are trying to sell me something.
My thanks for any clues

Bob Jenkins

Chris Isaac
30th August 2008, 09:31
This may be of some help, your Symantec software is one of the most resource hungry pieces of software available and can cause a system to run very slowly.

I had the same problem a couple of years ago. As a solution I replaced the Symatec software with the FREE virus checker from AVG (this can be upgraded to a full suite of software at not much charge) the AVG software places little burden on my system.

If you take this course of action you will need to go the Symantec web site and get their removal tool. Simply deleting Symantec software doesnt get rid of it. The tool is free but needs to be down loaded.

Hope this may help

spongebob
30th August 2008, 09:42
Thanks for that Chris, I did remove Symantic some time ago when it started to take up to 5 hours to do a full system check, up from about 35 minutes normally. I ran for a few weeks without it with no improvement and had it re installed. I now takes about 35 minutes each morning to do a full check with all OK results so I feel, without any authority, that this is not the culprit.