One for Marconi Sahib

marinero
2nd September 2008, 22:13
Evening Kris.
Google have just released their new browser (Chrome) I would appreciate your views on it as regards IE7 & Firefox.
Regards
Leo (Thumb)

K urgess
2nd September 2008, 22:46
That would be difficult, Leo.
I only use IE7 and will probably wait until it gets used a bit by others before trying it.
There's news of it here
http://news.cnet.com/Meet-Chrome%2C-Googles-shiny-new-browser/2009-1032_3-6246210.html?tag=mncol;txt
I can't seem to find any reviews by people that have tried it yet.
Cheers
Kris

Bruce Carson
2nd September 2008, 23:27
Like good bourbon, anything as complex as a new browser has to be very well aged before use.(==D)

Bruce

benjidog
3rd September 2008, 00:36
As an IT Professional I always advise my clients not to be first to install ANY software - let others feel the pain and install the version with the worst of the bugs fixed. Nobody tests software properly these days so there will be plenty of them I have no doubt.

Having said that, trying out a browser is no big deal as it is unlikely to do any damage and you can always remove it if you don't rate it.

Santos
3rd September 2008, 00:57
Talking of browsers - there is a current problem with IE7, when you try to save from an O.E. E mail it tells you that the mshtml.hlp file is missing and that you need to re install it. Microsoft have said that there is no such thing as the mshtml.hlp file. They have apparantly admitted that this is a problem with IE7 and that they have sent it to another firm to sort out and it is hoped to be cured before the end of the year.

I have overcome this problem by forwarding the E mail with attachments to myself - it then allows you to save attachments but still stops you right clicking on any photos. I also use Yahoo to save from.

Chris.

marinero
3rd September 2008, 11:31
Thanks for the replies, will wait a while as suggested.
Regards
Leo

mikeg
3rd September 2008, 16:27