Mary Holt

Eric Walter
3rd October 2008, 17:27
Following posted by 'mclean' 1st Oct in "Brocklebank Photo's" thread:-

"Eric, I was Third Mate on the Mary Holt,when we sailed from Liverpool on 23 July 1964. Arrived back in Liverpool on 28 September 1964. Unfortunately my memory for names and faces is terrible, however do remember Trevor Williams, a great bloke. Willie Harrison was Master. Regards Colin"

Thanks for the memories Colin. I was a Brocklebank apprentice but did my first two trips on the Mary Holt when you were Third Mate. It was a happy ship. People I remember are Captain William Harrison, Trevor Williams was mate on the first trip but cannot remember the name of the regular Guinea Gulf mate who returned for the second trip that ended 4pm Tilbury, Christmas Eve 1964. The second mate ( whose picture is in your gallery) was very laid back and called Joe Culligan/Corrigan???. I seem to think the sparks was John Guthrie. The senior apprentice was Graham Murray from Old Roan, Liverpool. Sadly I only remember one engineer, who was also a Brock man. He was a small, fair haired Geordie, wore glasses, called Jack ??? Seem to remember he was J 3rd or 4th. He was keen to tell me about who hung the monkey and introduced me to the Lampton Worm. Sadly I still remember the chorus. The purser was called McAndrew I think. He ran the solo whist school every night and woe betide anyone who played a wrong card. Post mortems could last longer than the games. She was a white crew ship , except for stewards. Bosun was well liked by all but can't remember his name. Lamptrimmer was called Reg.