Are there any communication on 2182?

sven-olof
8th October 2008, 23:35
Im not an RO, but in my teenages I dreamed to became one.

So all evenings during the 1970 s I was sitting and listening on 2182 k.
As you remembered it was a very very busy frequency and sometimes dramatic too arund the north sea.
I really enjoy the pictures i SN gallery from radio rooms. And I enjoy You old sparkies diskussions.
The sparkies are now gone from the seas and my question Is it worth the job to bring the longwire up again. Is it empty on 2182?

Is there any internet sites where you can listen live from any parts on the world with heavy maritime traffic?

rgds

Mimcoman
9th October 2008, 03:57
Hi, Sven-Olaf:

There is just about nothing to listen to on 2182 nowadays. I've been monitoring 2182kHz in the North Sea now for about 30 Years (I left the Merchany Navy in 1979 and worked at Stonehaven Radio/GND until 1998, and since then have been working at Aberdeen Coastguard). There are long periods when nothing is heard at all. Better at night, when stations on the east coast of North America can be heard (especially the Canadian Coastguard stations) but nothing to what it was about 10-15 years ago.

Globaltuners.com has a good reputation as an internet site for remotely-accessible receivers, although I do not have personal experience.

73 es gud dx
Bill

ddraigmor
9th October 2008, 17:43
If it's VHF and busy then there is an excellent site at:

http://www.ais-live.co.uk/AIS%20Live/channel12.html

From there choose your player. If you want, get the AIS Live map up as well and you can plot them as well as hearing them. I live in hope that someone in Liverpool / North Wales Coast will do something similar!

Jonty

mikeg
9th October 2008, 20:06
Hi, Sven-Olaf: