Slide scanner, which one ?

dinsdale
13th July 2005, 22:32
Help,
Can anyone point me in the right direction towards a good slide scanner, it just seems to be a minefield out there.

What sort of money do I need to pay for a decent one, and what make do I go for.

Your experiences would be gratefully recieved.

Dinsdale.

Tom Haywood
15th July 2005, 05:10
I am now looking at purchasing a scanner (this years tax cheque) so that I can post some of the mountain of slides I have found from my NZS days.
I have been told that the Cannon "Canoscan" 8400F is one of the best for slide work.
Comments please from the experts.

Tom Haywood

Doug Rogers
15th July 2005, 05:43
Tom,
I am no expert in this at all, other members are much better qualified in this respect than I, but for what its worth..here goes. I guess it depends on what you want it for and the quality you want. I use a HP Scanjet 3770 flatbed scanner which allows me to scan articles, photos negatives etc. Quality is good. About a year old now.I am sure that the Cannon 8400F is more than adequate...but consider do you really only want to use it for slides, look at the other perameters of what it does and how easily it does them before you make a decision. I looked at four scanners, the HP was second dearest in the line up and second best performer...but I bought it as a special in a sale that was on and it came out second cheapest!!. Hope that helps...good luck and look forward to your slides!!.

Tom Haywood
17th July 2005, 23:01
Thks Doug, guess its going to take a bit of homework to determine what I realy need. The main reqirement is to scan and record/save slides taken in the mid 60's.
Appart from the interest I have with this site it has also gavanised me into sorting these slides before I loose them and their memories.

Tom Haywood

Doug Rogers
18th July 2005, 01:22