Where And Where???

Hazonline
11th November 2008, 19:56
Hello honourable crew members and wisemen!

Essentially, this is an update of my 'Cooks Jobs' section, but anyways, regardless of the HUGE NET out there, I can't find any sites about becoming a cook/chef in the Merchant Navy, and I can only find absolutely minimal information about the job.

Where is recruitment?

I'd be grateful to hear from current or former cooks onboard.........

Also, I'd be delighted if some cooks or former cooks could give me a brief insight into the life of a Merchant Naval cook. Thanks very much!

Haz.

P.S - Please PM me if you can help
(Edited to remove email address as per site policy)

kevjacko
11th November 2008, 23:20
Hi Have you tried the RFA. I am an ex Cook and have been ashore a long time now (not without the odd yearning to return). However I was at a careers fare a couple of years back and the RFA had a stand there. I was talking to the recruitment team and they said even at my tender age of the 42 they would take me on (even up to the age of 50) could be worth a go. No doubt someone on this site will have a contact number or adress for them.

I seriously considered returning to the sea myself recently and got talking to a currently serving cook / manager working supply and dive in the North Sea. It sounds as though the changes since my day have been massive and now I'm not sure wheteher I could just be suffering a bad case of nostalgic overload. I do know one thing though, the twelve years I spent at sea were the best of my life and I don't regret a single minute of them. Good luck with your endeavors and I really hope it works out for you.

PS If you fancy the offshore thing Clyde Marine could be the people to talk to. Me though give me deep sea everytime.

Hazonline
12th November 2008, 18:29
Thanks mate.

Will look into it ;)

stevie burgess
14th November 2008, 02:38