Model ships

kevjacko
3rd January 2009, 12:47
Can anyone help me out here? I am sorta thinking about getting into model ship building but don't know where to start. I have been looking at some of the photo's in the gallery and they are fantastic. Are you gents using any particular web site to purchase these in kit form, what sort of costs am I looking at? etc etc. Any info would be appreciated bearing in mind I'm a complete novice at this TA

K urgess
3rd January 2009, 12:52
I've moved your post into the model ships forum where you'll probably get better replies.
If you do a search in this forum you may find the answer yourself.
Cheers
kris

Scousegit
3rd January 2009, 13:17
Hi,

Could you could give me some indication as to what type of vessel you want to build?

For instance the size of the model, do you want it to radio controlled or static, electric or steam powered (the latter NOT recommended if you are a novice BTW); are you thinking of a fishing boat, cargo vessel, yacht or a warship, do you want to build in plastic, wood or metal; what facilities do you have i.e.the kitchen/dinning room table or a workshop?

Scouse.

kevjacko
4th January 2009, 12:57
Hi,

Could you could give me some indication as to what type of vessel you want to build?

For instance the size of the model, do you want it to radio controlled or static, electric or steam powered (the latter NOT recommended if you are a novice BTW); are you thinking of a fishing boat, cargo vessel, yacht or a warship, do you want to build in plastic, wood or metal; what facilities do you have i.e.the kitchen/dinning room table or a workshop?

Scouse.

Hi Scouse.

Will definetly be static, dont want to go to large or complicated to begin with and would rather do cargo vessel or sail ship (was a tankerman for 8 years). I'm not that bothered about materials but probably have a leaning towards wood. Facilities are'nt a prob have my own den (sanctuary).

CHEERS

KEV

John.H.Clark
4th January 2009, 13:37