S.S.------? Bowater

stoker
3rd August 2005, 01:07
I would appreciate if any one can help me with the name of this vessel and any information about her.
When I was an Apprentice in Verolme Cork dockyard about Jan '63 a Bowater vesel was towed in, she was a tripple expansion job, as I understood it the bucket on the Main Sea Water Circulating pump had come off and the rod had punched a hole in the pump bottom cover. The Fire brigade had to assist in pumping the Engine Room out. One doesn't exactly see the big picture as an Apprentice, I was just glad to be working in a warm Engine Room and not out on a cold slipway.
After I went to sea myself and had a few scares, I appreciated what the crew must have gone through.Can any one tell me what was the ship's name, and what became of her?
Rgds.
Stoker.

JET
25th November 2005, 13:02
Hi Stoker, The name of the ship was Liverpool Packet, owned at that time by the Bowater Steamship Co. She was on a voyage from Northfleet to Carmenville, Newfoundland, in ballast, when the carrier for the head valves in the Edwards air pump disintegrated. Apart from other problems, she drifted for 8 days before the Elizabeth Bowater arrived on the scene and towed her back to Ireland, entering Cork harbour on 17 Dec 1962. After completing repairs at Verolme dockyard in Jan 63 the ship did one more trip to Norway for woodpulp before being laid up in Feb at the Blackwater, Essex. The ship was scrapped soon after the lay up.
The ship was one of the Canadian built 'Park' type vessels, constructed by the St John Shipbuilding & Drydock Co of Nova Scotia in 1945 and it's original name was Argyle Park.
The Mersey Paper Co of Liverpool, Nova Scotia owned the ship prior to Bowaters buying the paper company, hence the 'Liverpool' refers to Nova Scotia.

Regards,
JET

R58484956
25th November 2005, 15:52
Welcome Jet to the site, It looks as though you will be an asset with a first posting like that, keep it up.

erussellrv
4th December 2005, 19:10
Jet,