Sup. and Guaranteed Chief Engineers.

Bill Forster
5th February 2009, 11:25
I am not an engineer but am writing an account of my father's life at sea as a marine engineer:

FORTY YEARS AT SEA: A VOYAGE WTH MY FATHER

and am puzzled by entries in his Seaman's Discharge book for 1937 and am hoping somebody can explain them.

On the 3 April (his 37th birthday) he joined MS SOBO (Elder Dempster) at Liverpool for its maiden voyage as "Sup. Chief Engineer", sailing the same day, but left at the end of that voyage on the 24 June.

The next entry i his Certificate of Discharge is on the 14 September 1937 when he joined RFA ALDERSDALE at Birkenhead for its maiden voyage as "Guarantee Chief Engineer" in time for its sea trial. It left on its maiden voyage on the 18 September.

Can somebody please explain the difference between Sup. Chief Engineer, Guaranteed Chief Engineer and plain Chief Engineer?

Bill Forster

son of
WILLIAM REDVERS FORSTER (1900-75)

vincent simmonds
5th February 2009, 11:31
they never make the tea

K urgess
5th February 2009, 11:38
The first could be either Superintendent or Supervising Chief Engineer and the second could possibly mean he was employed by the engine manufacturer to ensure that all went well.
Our engine room staff will probably have a better idea.
Cheers
Kris

R58484956
5th February 2009, 11:47
Plain Chief Engineer means exactly what it is says, he is the number one man on board who is in complete charge of ALL machinery on board and runs the engine room with his fellow engineers. If he is on a steam ship he will have a"steam ticket" and if on a motor ship will have a "motor ticket" of competency, you can of course have a combined motor/steam ticket.

Bill Forster
5th February 2009, 11:55
I was thinking it might be something along those lines as he had previously been chief Engineer on MV SUTHERLAND, the first of the "Doxford Economy Ships" which had revived shipbuilding on the Wear when it was launched at Sunderland in December 1935.