King Orry

Alan Blair
24th August 2005, 11:16
This is a painting of the King Orry, I'm not really impressed by some of the modern designs of ferries, I know they are very workman like, but a bit too utilitarian at times, so when I saw this photo of the King Orry I decided to have a go at painting this vessel , I went for this low angle to concentrate on the bow wave and to give the impression of speed and power----------Alan

thunderd
24th August 2005, 13:29
That's a pretty striking picture Alan. well done....another great talent on SN

mcook
24th August 2005, 13:45
Nice painting Alan. That looks like Douglas in the background?

During my leave perioids I worked as an Auxiliary Coast Guard
at Knott End-on-Sea, which was across the river from Fleetwood.
There was a regular summer service from Fleetwood to Douglas and
it was always a fine sight to see the IOM ferries entering and leaving
the Wyre estuary. It was even better sailing on one to the Island
in June for a day of TT races and drinking lots of excellent Manx beer!

Was it not the King Orry that once ran aground in the Fleetwood channel?

I also understand that some of the ferries had a bow rudder arrangement
to assist them with backing in to their berths.

moaf
24th August 2005, 15:59
not sure about king orry but Hengist and Horsa had bow rudders to assist them when running astern to the berth. I was on a cable ship, the Cable Enterprise which also had a bow rudder.

Santos
24th August 2005, 19:47
Very nice painting Alan, very nice indeed.

Yes most if not all of the IOM ferries had bow rudders. Very impressed one day to see the Manxman going up river astern at quite a pace to berth in Dublin. Bridge Officers on the Monkey Island facing aft as she fairly cracked on. Thats were the bow rudders came in useful and also at Douglas.