Cape and Lady vessels

tgar
21st July 2009, 09:29
Hi!
I'm new to this, but I'm looking for information on ships sailing in the 1950s. They were the Cape Rodney, Cape Hawke, Cape Howe, Cape Franklin and Cape Grenville, Lady McGowan, Lady Anstruther and Lady Dorothy. I'd like to find pictures of them and any info on their voyages. I'm doing family history and Mum's cousin, Albert Davidson, was on these ships, before becoming a Trinity House pilot. He was first mate on the Cape ships and second mate on the others. I'd also like to find out about his sailings before 28/4/1952 when he joined the Rodney,especially during the war. He was always in the Merchant Navy, but where?
I hope someone can help point me in the right direction.
tgar

K urgess
21st July 2009, 11:27
Welcome aboard.
If you put the names into the Miramar search engine you will get some basic details of the vessels and their history.
http://www.miramarshipindex.org.nz/
Regards

Roger Griffiths
21st July 2009, 22:22
Hi!
I'm new to this, but I'm looking for information on ships sailing in the 1950s. They were the Cape Rodney, Cape Hawke, Cape Howe, Cape Franklin and Cape Grenville, Lady McGowan, Lady Anstruther and Lady Dorothy. I'd like to find pictures of them and any info on their voyages. I'm doing family history and Mum's cousin, Albert Davidson, was on these ships, before becoming a Trinity House pilot. He was first mate on the Cape ships and second mate on the others. I'd also like to find out about his sailings before 28/4/1952 when he joined the Rodney,especially during the war. He was always in the Merchant Navy, but where?
tgar

His full name, date and place of birth would be a big help. I can find one Albert Davidson born 10/1/1923 in Wick. Discharge A number R281572. Ring any bells?

Roger

tgar
22nd July 2009, 10:49
Hi Roger!
That's him! Where did you find him? What's a Discharge A number?