Lathe Chuck

Shipbuilder
12th September 2009, 17:28
Hello everyone,
Hope someone may be able to help in this. Although I am not an engineer, I am not new to lathe work, having had my present one since the early 70s.

Two days ago, I needed to drill a 1/16th inch hole down the centre of a quarter inch brass rod (A thing I have done countless times before).

I placed the rod in the chuck and the drill in the tail chuck. No matter how much I tightened the main chuck up, when I advanced the tailchuck drill, it simply pushed the rod into the main chuck. I am using the same type of brass as usual. I tried a new drill and it was just the same. I washed the chuck thoroughly in white spirit in case it was a bit oily and it was still the same. I then washed it in meths and there was a bit of an improvement, but not much!

Can a three jaw chuck wear out over the years, causing this to happen?
The lathe is a Unimat SL. The chuck that keeps slipping is a MOUNT M12 x 1, 0-6mm capacity.

Bob

MARINEJOCKY
12th September 2009, 18:45
Bob, I bought a very old lathe from a ship yard and never had that problem.

I am not writing the following to be a smart ass but I had an apprentice once who had the same problem and he had the lathe in reverse !!!.

Have you tried taking out and cleaning all of the jaws

chadburn
12th September 2009, 18:56
shipbuilder, Like everything in life things do wear out, the jaws will possibly be touching each other before gripping the rod, set the rod up again and see if you can get a feeler guage between both sides of the three the jaws, without wanting to teach you to suck eggs or offend you put a collar on the brass rod, secured with a screw.

Shipbuilder
12th September 2009, 19:02