James Watt Memorial College, Greenock

NZSCOTTY
14th January 2010, 21:44
Whilst I am aware of members on Ship Nostalgia for the year I went to pre-sea training at James Watt Memorial College in Greenock it would be good to find any others who did pre-sea training there or studied for certificates there.

jimthehat
14th January 2010, 22:28
i studied for second mates at the james watt college somewhere circa 1957,that is the old school ,not that big brash multi floored building and actually stayed at the house where I was born and still go back up to Greenock to see relatives.

jim

NZSCOTTY
14th January 2010, 23:06
Yes it was the old James Watt I was talking about. I was there for pre-sea training 62/63 and back for 2nd Mates in 67 before being moved to Glasgow for mates.

John Cassels
15th January 2010, 09:08
Yes it was the old James Watt I was talking about. I was there for pre-sea training 62/63 and back for 2nd Mates in 67 before being moved to Glasgow for mates.

Jeez , are you THAT old ??.

NZSCOTTY
16th January 2010, 06:16
Jeez , are you THAT old ??.

I am sure I remember a little fresh faced Gourock boy there. Was that you??

John Cassels
16th January 2010, 09:42
I am sure I remember a little fresh faced Gourock boy there. Was that you??

Possibly someone who looked very like me.

John Cassels
16th January 2010, 09:45
You're not getting much response here John. Strange as there must be
enough out there who went through the Watt school.

Am trying to remember who took the 2nd.mates class. It wasn't Pearson or
Davidson. Can remember what he looked like but the name ................?.

jimthehat
16th January 2010, 17:08
When i was there in the late 50s the lecturer for second mates also worked as a football commentator .cant remember his name

jim

gwzm
16th January 2010, 17:11
I was at the James Watt Memorial College September '61 - February '63 for 2nd/1st Class PMGs and MoT Radar Maintenance Certificates then joined Brocklebank.

gwzm

John Cassels