Children's Books

hazel77
24th February 2010, 10:46
Hi Everyone

I need your help! I'm a Phd student working on children's lit from around 1914 - 1945 and part of this work requires me to write about how Britain's maritime past was presented to children through literature. The problem that I'm having is trying to make sure that I read a range of books that is representative of the period.
So . . . if you know of any books that I should definitely be looking at then do, please let me know.

So far, I've covered the obvious ones such as Ransome, Masefield, Sabatini, Taffrail, Bartimeus, Westerman but the trouble is that a lot of the lesser known writers from the inter war years have been a bit neglected and I want to try to bring them into the foreground again.

Any thing at all that you'd like to recommend will be great. I'm a complete novice to the maritime world so all help is gratefully accepted!

Cheers

Hazel

K urgess
24th February 2010, 13:18
Welcome aboard from East Yorkshire, Hazel.
A look at the children's encyclopedias and children's annuals from the inter war years will give you an idea of how the subject was covered. Books such as "Engineering Wonders of the World" contained a good proportion of articles about the maritime world. Novels by such as Percy Westerman were popular as you mentioned. A lot of the older 19th century books such as "Midshipman Easy" were constantly reprinted.
Find your way around and get to know the crew.
Have a good voyage.

R58484956
24th February 2010, 14:58
Greetings Hazel and a warm welcome to SN on your first interesting posting. Bon voyage.

billyboy
24th February 2010, 21:43
Welcome aboard from the Philippines. Enjoy all this great site has to offer

bert thompson
25th February 2010, 10:15
Hazel welcome to this great site. Series of books I enjoyed as a boy was Arthur Mees Childrens Encyclopedia and The book of ten thousand things. So long ago
Best wishes
Bert.

benjidog
25th February 2010, 22:38