Engine makers

sidsal
6th March 2010, 12:29
I live in South Manchester. In Poynton there is a very interesting engine museum whose moving spirit had an honour recently. There are all sorts of engines on display - many of them operational. I am not an engineer but am struck by the fact that there used to be about six engine builders in the Manchester area - Crossleys, Gardners, Mirlees etc. Now there are none !
In Hazel Grove near Stockport there used to be the Mirlees factory. They were bought out by MAN and shut down. Most of the site now consists of about six office blocks - all empty !!!
I was told however that Mirlees still have an office on the site and employ engineers who service engines worldwide. And this is the rub - they make more money now than they ever did when they manufactured engines !
It's a funny old world !

Andrew Craig-Bennett
6th March 2010, 14:13
I think the same applies to Paxmans, in Colchester.

Of course, many people think that was what Paxmans should have done in the first place, but then they never really designed engines for sea service and there were aspects of Paxmans engineering, particularly, I gather, on the controls side, that MAN wanted.

Duncan112
6th March 2010, 18:43

Of course, many people think that was what Paxmans should have done in the first place, but then they never really designed engines for sea service and there were aspects of Paxmans engineering, particularly, I gather, on the controls side, that MAN wanted.

Mmmm, was the Hagenuk governor on the Bremer Vulkan MAN KZs better than the Europa panel that Paxman fitted to (at least BPs) Paxman alternators?

roboted
6th March 2010, 19:25