paddler question

billyboy
27th October 2005, 12:59
can anyone tell me if there was ever a paddler built that had the capabilityof going ahead on one and astern on the other for manouvering? I think not, but my overeducated mate here says there was. anyone help on this one? I got a large tot staked on this one guy's

Piero43
27th October 2005, 14:39
I'm not a paddler expert, but, technically speaking, the only way would be to operate the port and starbord wheels with two indipendent engines.
Another way could be to insert two reverse gears between a single engine and the two wheels, but this looks quite intricate and scarcely reliable in manoeuvering, expecially in emergency.
So: has ever been built a paddler with two indipendent engines? The answer to our historical experts!
P.

Bruce Carson
27th October 2005, 15:09
Hi:
There were a few.
I posted a picture in the Gallery of the train ferry 'Solano' on Oct. 2.
She had independent walking beam engines on the centerline, each attached to separate paddle shafts.
The following site has photos of a model of the ferry showing the configuration of the engines and shafts.
http://www.cprr.org/Museum/Ephemera/Solano_Ferry_Model.html

Bruce C.

Derek Roger
27th October 2005, 15:31
To my knowlege independent drives to each paddle was the norm. As such they were very easy to manouver.
For efficiency the paddle blades "feathered " to maintain a vertical position relative to the water ;that is; they did not lift water on the blades upward portion of the revolution .All the effort being put into forward motion or astern as the case may be.

Valayer
27th October 2005, 15:45
Believe the Tay paddler-ferries, before the war, and until early 50's (BL Nairn and Sir William High) had a pair of horizontal steam engines, one port one starboard. I used to watch them as a kid from the lounge, which had windows overlooking the machinery.

Bruce Carson
27th October 2005, 20:01