Overflying The North Pole

Binnacle
13th April 2010, 12:38
An RAF pilot flying Catalina FB's based at Sullom Voe had a desire to overfly the Geographical North Pole. He received permission to attempt this flight when/if operational requirements permitted. Seeking polar navigation advice he arranged a visit to the Admiralty in London, without gleaning any useful information. He was an experienced pilot being engaged in air operations in Arctic regions. I have no knowledge of air navigation or what equipment would be fitted in a Catalina aircraft, and suspect that being wartime,
radio beacon guidance would be unavailable or unreliable. The magnetic compass would be useless in this latitude and whether the North seeking component of a Catalina gyro compass could be disengaged is beyond me. A reliable chronometer and sextant appear to be the only reliable aids, this would require good visibility and preferably daylight. Arctic sea ice would make any landing impractical. The period of time in the area would be obviously limited. Every since reading a book, written by one of his crew, about this brave pilotís experiences I have pondered how this would be done. I note that Rear Admiral Byrdís claim to fame in 1926 is now discredited. Amundsen is now accepted to be the first navigator to overfly the N. Pole in airship Norge. Sadly the pilot, perhaps RAAF, was killed on air operations off N. Norway/Russia. I have tried without success to trace the book. Any air navigators among members ?, advice would be welcome as to practical requirements in 1942.

Tony D
13th April 2010, 14:01
Is it ok i I copy and paste your post on another website Mr B? said website is frequented by many aviators and they may have the information you seek,questions of a similar nature are posted there all the time with a lot of success.

charles henry
13th April 2010, 14:36
Arctic sea ice would make any landing impractical.