Manual of Seamanship ?

Binnacle
7th May 2010, 20:59
For general knowledge on the subject and to satisfy BOT examiners my choice was Nicholls Seamanship & Nautical Knowledge. I had a handed down copy, from my Sea Cadet Corp days, of the Admiralty Manual of Seamanship, 1908 reprinted 1915, but this was mainly geared for use on RN vessels. I suspect however that this manual was the preference of some members, dating perhaps from training ship days. What was your preferred seamanship manual ?.

ROBERT HENDERSON
7th May 2010, 21:13
Binnacle
I started with Nicholls but gave it away when I failed the eyesight test and came on the coast.
When the rules were changed and I started studying again I settled for Dantons seamanship, I didn't find much difference.

Regards Robert

Andrew Craig-Bennett
7th May 2010, 21:19
I believe that Captain Danton is still with us!

Off the subject, slightly, if one ever delves deeply into the Admiralty Manual of Seamanship, older edtions, there is a good deal of quite sound merchant ship stuff in Volume Three. I personally have not found much need to know how to load the ammunition on a Royal Sovereign class battleship, nor have I needed to know how to tow one battleship with another, all of which can be found in Volume Two of my 1928 edition, but Volume Three actually covers stability, loadlines, stowage and suchlike.

John Dryden
7th May 2010, 21:20
Nicholls for me, at Hull Trinity House and as an apprentice it covered everything we needed to know.Trying to remember the principles of navigation book we had to use but forgotten which one it was,a big hefty tome about the same size as Nicholls.

Andrew Craig-Bennett
7th May 2010, 21:26
I still have a cherished copy of Lecky's Wrinkles in Practical Navigation. Now that is a wonderful book and full of all sorts of tips that were still useful in the 1980s.

Tony D
7th May 2010, 21:39
I have a copy of TAITES SEAMANSHIP dated 1920, price on the cover 2/-