35mm Slides

Brian Bunyard
30th June 2010, 12:06
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.

hen llongwr
30th June 2010, 12:29
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.
I use to work for a scan & copy compay, they would scan
any thing print it put on a cd, try looking up one in your
area, it doe'st cost a lot.
SCANIT AFRICA PO BOX 10060 aston manor pretoria 1630
tel +27 (11) 391-8636
E-mail squib@scanit.co.za

Malky Glaister
30th June 2010, 13:10
Hi, There are quite a few scanners on the market that will deal with slides and negatives with excellent results. You do need a computor. The resulting images can be altered with software suites available for this purpose.
It is quite time consuming but you will be pleased,
regards Malky Glaister

Pat McCardle
30th June 2010, 18:39
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.


Yes Brian you need a scanner that has the capability to copy the slides. If you have Windows XP or less you can have my scanner free, as I have Vista & the computer doesn't recognise it!(Thumb)

gadgee
30th June 2010, 19:45
Yes you need a scanner which is meant for scanning slides and usually has a special holder into which the slides clip. As Malky says this is carried out via a PC with the associated programme which in the case of my Canoscan 4200F came with the scanner.

IMRCoSparks
1st July 2010, 01:09
Here in Canada this product is available. There must be something similar in the UK.

http://www.londondrugs.com/Cultures/en-US/Product+Detail/Cameras.htm?BreadCrumbs=Cameras;Cameras;Printers%2 0and%20Scanners;Scanners;Optex%2035mm%20Film%20&%20Slide%20Scanner%20-%20DIGISCAN1&Catalog=Cameras&Category=Scanners&ProductID=3529682&ProductTab=3

Oops, just noticed you are in SA

Jan Hendrik
2nd July 2010, 05:08
Brian, just go through all the threads on this subject.
It fills a rainy Sunday and you will get some good advice from other members.
Jan

hawkey01
2nd July 2010, 17:11
Brian,

You need an attachment - special frame - which fits over the copying deck. It will be hard to copy 35mm slides without it, unless you make up something.
By chance this morning I found some very old - 1960s 35mm colour film which I took in Canada. I have attached a couple of pictures. This was using my Epson RX520 scanner - I am sure they have superseded this model now. Considering the dust and years of lying around they have not turned out too badly.
This subject has come up many times before and I think that a lot of the new machines do not have the facility for 35mm slides/film. You would have to search around.

Hawkey01

Billieboy
2nd July 2010, 19:18
Was the first photo taken, leaving Port Albernie, Hawkeye?

J Boyde
3rd July 2010, 08:16
Mine is a Epson stylus Photo Rx650, Took a lomg time to find one that does the slides, via the computor. I have know idea how many slides I have changed on the printor via the computor. Have a problem at the moment, the memory from a stroke stops me working out the printer works. I, like I am sure, many, have many slides that need to be be changed before they become part of history.
Jim B

rickles23
3rd July 2010, 08:44
Hi,
I still have and use my Jenscan for slides and film. When I scan a slide it will save it at 40Mbs. Yes Megabytes but the detail is superb and I always drop the size of the file whem converting to a Bitmap.
Although costly, using a camera store may be a solution to the problem.
For Pat, does Vista not have the Compatibility Wizard? I had to use this on XP to get the Jenscan to go.
Regards

Pat McCardle
3rd July 2010, 11:29
Hi,
For Pat, does Vista not have the Compatibility Wizard? I had to use this on XP to get the Jenscan to go.
Regards

No compatablity with Vista with my HP scanner but I wonder if I can download the software?

hawkey01
3rd July 2010, 12:40
Billieboy,

As we were fully loaded at the time it would have been sailing from Tahsis. We had been to Port Alberni but we finished off in Tahsis.

Hawkey01

Billieboy
5th July 2010, 11:18
Billieboy,

As we were fully loaded at the time it would have been sailing from Tahsis. We had been to Port Alberni but we finished off in Tahsis.

Hawkey01

Thanks Hawkey, it seemed familiar.

Allan Wareing
5th July 2010, 15:27
Yes you need a scanner which is meant for scanning slides and usually has a special holder into which the slides clip. As Malky says this is carried out via a PC with the associated programme which in the case of my Canoscan 4200F came with the scanner.

I have been using a Canoscan 3000F for some years now with excellent results on 35mm colour slides and B and W negatives. Only down side is that it only handles one slide at a time.
Allan.

stevie-w
5th July 2010, 15:40
Brian, I use an Epson V700 which is at the top end of the price ladder. however I chose it because I can scan negatives in 35mm, slides in several formats and it is also a flatbed scanner for those photos that you no longer have the negs for.
I can thoroughly recommend it- all of the shots in my gallery are done with it, mostly from 35mm negatives but some from 6" x 4" colour prints.

NoMoss
5th July 2010, 16:41
Thanks Hawkey, it seemed familiar.

That brings back memories. I was there on the Stanwear and we loaded around the Island then finished off in Portland, where we sailed on July 4th. We had quite an escort of small craft down the river.

Trampshipman
28th July 2010, 17:28
I have a large number of 35mm colour sldies.

I have a scanner as part of a copier and fax machine, but I try and scan the slide I get a very poor result.

What is the soloution.


Brian,
For this purpose I purchased`online`a Canoscan 8800F. It does a pretty good job and I`m happy with it. I`ve used editing software on some shots, but in the main this has not been necessary. Of course you will need a PC. I am still running with Windows XP.
Best of luck !
Ken.

andysk
30th November 2010, 15:52
Just catching up after a long absence from SN, and found this thread.

If scanning slides and negatives, for the best results you need to be able to project the light through the slide/negative from above. Most flatbed scanners offering this have a mirror box of some sort that bounces the light around, but this gives an inferior result, and only does one at a time.

For the best results, you need to get a scanner with a separate light source in the lid, and a frame for holding up to 12 35mm slides which are scanned at the same time.

I have an Epson 4990, now superceded by the Vxxx series, that does just this. It delivers a file of about 5-7 Mb and in a choice of formats. I set mine up to scan 8 slides in a batch, that takes about 45-50 minutes, time enough to get through the bathroom and dining room.

Graham Wallace
30th November 2010, 17:22
Bryan,

Last year I decided to scan all my colour slides dating back to around 1963, put 'em on a cd and give them to my family for future memories.

There were around 2000, the old 1963/64 were mounted in thick plastic frames the remainder in thin Kodak cardboard frames. I could never get the plastic frame slides to focus and so removed the slide from the frame and then it was OK.

The kodak mounted slides were never a problem

I bought an Epson 1260 scanner around 2003 and still use it today for normal 'single' action use.
I bought that specific model as it had adaptors for scanning slides. A flat plate that the slide was placed into and a palm sized back light which is placed over it. It is so long ago I cannot remember the software but transferred it with each computer I had, I now use a laptop.

Some other scanningdevices at the time had a slot in the top cover which took a strip of negatives.

My slide transfer was successful, but he time taken was horrendous, I think around 6 weeks and quite a few hours each day. Sometimes I thought I would go nuts but managed to carry on .....2000 repetitions of slide in place,top light placed on,scan time, remove back light ,transfer to computer and check quality !

But a great result and my family delighted, there was no way I could ever show them 2000 old slides.

Hopefully I have attached 2 photos of the rig I used

GOOD LUCK !

Graham Wallace

Duncan112
30th November 2010, 23:11
I use a Nikon Coolscan III bought off ebay - stunning results but uses a SCSI interface which requires a bit of fiddling to get Vista and 7 to recognise it. Later Coolscans are USB types which are plug and play - but a bit more expensive.

BarnacleGrim
4th December 2010, 16:00
I bought an old Polaroid SprintScan 4000. The quality is great, but it's pretty slow on an old SCSI Mac. I should look for extra memory and a G3 accelerator board. A high speed ATA board and a new hard drive would speed things up too.

R58484956
5th December 2010, 12:29
A scanner made by "ION" is available in the UK called Ion slide2PC USB film and slide scanner. Cost approx 60.

Duncan112
23rd March 2011, 23:30
Thought the contrast on my slide scanning had dropped off a bit so had a trawl on the web and found this..

http://www.pearsonimaging.com/articles/howto/ls5000cleaning.html

To avoid dismantling the mirror assembly however I used a DSLR sensor cleaning swab which fits neatly through the hole onto the mirror once the case is removed.

Results are excellent.