Hudson River

barnsey
12th July 2010, 12:00
For the THIRD time tonight I will attempt to post this thread .... !!!

I sailed on 'Hudson River' courtesy of the Marine Supt. of Hudson SS Co. for a Summer holiday trip from Dagenham to Blyth in 1958. It was a very interesting trip and of course I have always held a soft spot for the her even though I am a Tanker man by trade. On my training ship at Greenhithe from 1955 to 1959 all 'The Worlds' ships went by to and from London ...and in those 4 years I came to know the features of all the ships colliers included..... I can still see a photo on Ships Nostalgia ... recognise her and am dead chuffed when I see her name. But Hudson River being one of the larger colliers but distinct from the Likes of 'Sir John Snell' and her sisters always stood out.

I am building a model of her ... Deans mrine in UK put out the model and in Jan 2006 I bought it for a retiremnt project, started her and had to shelve her. May was wet here, June even wetter and so as July came I got the box down and as it has turned out frosty and cold ....the model has come a long way in a short time ...

Deans said that she had wooden hatchboards originally.... can anyone confirm this please ... she had 3 slab MacGregors when I was on her.

Has anyone her complete history from building to scrapping .. in Spain I believe? She also seems to have had derricks added later in life when Hudsons sold her?

spartan
12th July 2010, 19:30
Barnsey her history was as follows
Launched 28.4.49 yard no 466,completed Aug 49 by Ailsa Troon.Sold in 1973 renamed IVE under the Panama flag.Sold to Spanish breakers at San Juan de Nieva Aviles work began 6.10.76
Cheers
Spartan

barnsey
12th July 2010, 21:48
Thanks Spartan ....now I need to know if she did indeed have wooden hatch boards when built ... can't see it myself?

Tankman
13th July 2010, 14:27
Barnsey,