New Contributors?????

Alan Rawlinson
21st July 2010, 18:50
As it all seems to have gone quiet on the Bankline site, I wonder if any new contributors would like to add their thoughts. From the ' hits ' recorded on each thread, it seems there must be many Bankline vets reading, but keeping schtum! Am I right. C'mon guys. We'd love to hear from you, whatever the message!

pete
22nd July 2010, 09:30
Hi Alan, I'm a Bank Line Vet. (got the boot in 1980 after 15 Years). My Father and my Great Uncle also sailed with the company, bit of a Family Affair you might say. Taught me a lot about General cargo, as you know everything from pins to (in my case Giraffes). Matter of interest do you or anybody else know of a decent book about the Co. I have the Middlemiss but it is so full of mistakes and those stupid Line Drawings. 70 adventurous years has it's place but there must be something else. Uh oh, Memsahib as arrived so must up anchor and away............pete

Alistair Macnab
22nd July 2010, 15:26
Pete....
I invite you to look in the SN Directory if you haven't already done so and see the Bank Line Parts I to V. Parts VI and VII have been written and are presently being edited by Fred Henderson who is attaching suitable photographs. They will appear very soon. This may be what you are looking for in the meantime. This stuff will be further expanded to make a book in due course just as the Directory version is an expanded form of what originally appeared in this Bank Line section.

Alan Rawlinson
22nd July 2010, 19:06