Bank Line Personal Entertainment Equipment.....

Alistair Macnab
20th August 2010, 15:06
Perhaps this will get a new string started when we think back to our purchases of personal entertainment equipment for our cabins. As a first trip Apprentice, I started out with nothing but was quickly made aware of the presence of personal short wave radios in many cabins. At that time, Bank Line did not have any wired broadcast within the accommodations other than a loudspeaker in the Smoke Room and I don't think they ever did.
But being seconded by sundry officers to help them rig their wire aerials between drilled-through porthole rivets and the nearest sampson posts, I had become complicit in an array of crossing wires which the Old Man sought to have removed because 'they interfered with the radar'!
Anyway, on my first trip to the USA (Seattle for bulk wheat to, guess where? India) I bought a steel-cased Hallicrafter in a pawn shop for, I think, $10 and I was in business searching for that radio station which always played the music I wanted to hear. Much has already been recorded about Radio Australia, and LM Radio but there was another broadcasting from Del Rio Texas with 100 watts of power and could be heard everywhere.
Time went on, and when I got onto the Oriental African Line, my radio choice was a very handy-sized portable all-wave Japanese model of a make I cannot remember which lasted for years and which eventually ended up in my Mother's kitchen in Scotland. Would it be a Sony?