Clarke Champan enclosed steam winches

Shipbuilder
18th December 2010, 14:43
I was not sure whether this should be in engineering, or here. Finally decided to put it here because it is more a question of what the controls are.

Some time ago, a number of you helped me with details of this type of winch. I have now laboriously drawn plan view and side views. I am not an engineer, neither am I a draughstman, so hope you aren't too critical of my drawing skills or lack of them.

I needed these drawings simply to illustrate the appropriate section of a ship model building manuscript that I am writing and just want to make sure I haven't made any major gaffs in the various bits and pieces.

What is the blue lever on the side view? Is it the brake?
What is the turquoise circle next to the engine control lever (red) in the side view.

Bob

joebuckham
18th December 2010, 15:39
I was not sure whether this should be in engineering, or here. Finally decided to put it here because it is more a question of what the controls are.

Some time ago, a number of you helped me with details of this type of winch. I have now laboriously drawn plan view and side views. I am not an engineer, neither am I a draughstman, so hope you aren't too critical of my drawing skills or lack of them.

I needed these drawings simply to illustrate the appropriate section of a ship model building manuscript that I am writing and just want to make sure I haven't made any major gaffs in the various bits and pieces.

What is the blue lever on the side view? Is it the brake?
What is the turquoise circle next to the engine control lever (red) in the side view.

Bob
hi bob
the blue lever is indeed the foot brake
the lever that you have labelled "speed control" is the central barrel disengagement lever, and had two positions full left or full right and pinned secure
turquoise circle has me completely baffled, but still cogitating

fear not, your drawings are most professional

Shipbuilder