Nuclear Ship VS Nuclear Power plant construction

needadditionalinformation
16th March 2011, 02:28
With the horrible mess in Japan with those Nuclear Reactors, I was wondering if shore-side nuclear power plant designers could learn something from the construction of nuclear powered ships.

Now, if you care to reply, please don't be too hasty, I'm not a nuclear engineer, but I'm wondering if land based nuclear power plant designers could take lessons, so to speak or directly, from Naval Architects in order to build housing for those reactors that would be more robust than those Japanese (Daiichi?) nuclear power plants.

I would tend to believe that these ships encounter movement and forces far in excess of what that earth quake dished out. While a ship's hull (ULCC size?) wouldn't have to be the exact form, maybe it could be a place to start thinking about it.

It would seem strange to build a (large) ship's hull structure just to house a power plant, albeit one so close to the water, and there would be the issue of mooring it sufficiently so that it didn't float ashore with everything else, but given what the SS Savannah's hull was built to withstand in the event of a collision (to protect the reactor), and the protective benefit that could provide, and the nightmarish consequences of having 3 or more reactors meltdown, as may yet happen, the unprecidented cost and trouble of such construction might be well worth it.

Finally, one of my WWII era textbooks on Marine Engineering noted that "many lives have been saved because there are no yellow streaks in black gangs". We know not one Engineer from the Titanic survived, and eviently it's working the same way ashore in Japan right now. God Bless those men who are trying to contain the disaster, but it dosen't look like it's going to be pleasant for them.

lazyjohn
17th March 2011, 12:18
I hate to think that anybody would wan't the Japanese problem compounded by sinking the reactors to the sea bed as well.