Maths A levels for marine engineering - advice sought

Andrew Craig-Bennett
14th September 2011, 14:26
May I seek advice?

My elder sprog has just started in the sixth form - he wants to go to sea as an engineer so has selected maths, further maths, physics and chemistry.

He is finding the further maths a bit of a shock as he was not in the top maths set (though he did get an A at GCSE) and is wondering if he can keep up with it or whether he should drop it now and choose another subject (the modern set up is that they start with 4 A levels and drop one in the second year).

My instinct is that he should stick with the "further maths" even if it is a struggle, but not being an engineer myself I would welcome advice from those who are...

Satanic Mechanic
14th September 2011, 14:57
annoying one that

GCSE is enough to be honest but companies always like to see a good A level - plus it helps with the science subjects.

I have actually been asked advice on this in the last few weeks and I tend to be of the opinion that a good mix of academic and practical is the way forward, in this case I might be inclined to drop chemistry and to maybe take a couple of metalwork, technical drawing/CAD, Engineering qualifications - not 100% sure how the English system works.

Might even consider going as far as going to college and getting a BTEC diploma in engineering, I have seen this done a few times and it appears to be an excellent foundation

Duncan112
14th September 2011, 14:58