Navigating Apprentices and Cadets ....overtime

barnsey
16th December 2011, 10:40
Can anyone clarify why Navigating Apprentices did not get paid overtime whereas Cadets did.

Navigating Aprrentices did not sign articles Cadets did ....its something to do with that and the BoT regs.

Cant remember the detail ....

R831814
16th December 2011, 11:01
I was a Cadet and signed articles but was never paid overtime.

Do you think I might have a claim?

Pat Thompson
16th December 2011, 11:06
Greetings,

I was an apprentice, did not sign Articles and was paid overtime. I must have been a company thing. The ships were on "B" Articles so all the officers were paid overtime.

Jardine
16th December 2011, 11:27
Apprentices? I thought they were found in shipyards. Don't you mean Midshipmen! This is the Navigation Department we are talking about.

sparkie2182
16th December 2011, 11:39
"Don't you mean Midshipmen"

Were they not R.N. and B.F. only?

:)

callpor
16th December 2011, 11:46
I was a Navigating Apprentice with Port Line commencing articles in 1962. If I recall correctly we signed the Ship's Articles but never got overtime. Don't think the cadets who came a year or so later got overtime either. Pat Thompson is probably right, it's a company thing.

Davie M
16th December 2011, 11:47
Before the education system told all school children that a university education was the way forward,a system of apprenticeships existed in nearly all trades.
Midshipmen were RN, Apprentices and Cadets were MN.
Never paid overtime with Hogarth, but got 30 bonus for completing apprentice indenture.
Davie

sparkie2182
16th December 2011, 11:53
and luncheon vouchers???

Split
16th December 2011, 12:04
I was an apprentice. I did not get overtime payment, but I got plenty of overtime. The nightwatchman's 12 hour shift was the mate's favourite for senior apprentices. In addition, you had to make yourself scarce when you were off duty, too. Be seen and you got a job!

Davie M
16th December 2011, 12:07