Titanic Lives - Richard Davenport-Hines

Steven Adams
27th January 2012, 05:00
I spotted this new title from Harper Collins (2012) last week. As a former marine engineer, I (along with many others) have always had an affinity with the memory of the engineers who stood at their posts during the abandon ship and were all lost. Keen to see how the author dealt with this, I flicked through the volume but found no reference at all to the engineers; it refers to the firemen, greasers and others in the engine department but the word engineer is unknown.

How can a book which purports to document this tragedy at an individual level, be so selective and omit such an important story? The book has all the hallmarks of the Marxist approach of contemporary historians who see the world through the conflict of class, gender and race. The indexed reference to the 2nd Mate CH Lightoller's later life speaks of a spooky experience in a cold bath reminding him of the chilly north Atlantic all those years ago. It says nothing of his exploits as Commander of a RN Channel Fleet destroyer in WWI, nor his evacuation of British forces from Dunkirk in his own launch. For all that it appears to me to contain some hitherto unpublished images.

Ignorance of the role of the engineer is no surprise here as the ship's engineer is rarely seen in popular portrayals of shipboard life apart from the pseudo Scot on the Starship Enterprise.

sparkie2182
27th January 2012, 13:07
"pseudo Scot on the Starship Enterprise."

Who was on Juno Beach on D-Day.

:)

Chillytoes
28th January 2012, 11:08
Yes, Steven, it is a sad state of affairs that we engineers are so pointedly "the forgotten men". I think it has something to do with the fact that so much maritime literature has been penned by those on deck who seem to have had so much time for reflection (the wheel's kick and the wind's song type rubbish) while down below, the poor old engineers had more to worry about than the meaning of life!