"Words are like whirlpools - they move sometimes"

benjidog
28th January 2006, 00:31
The title of this thread is a line from one of my favourite Cher songs - "If I could turn back time".

Most of the users of SN are professionals who have spent their lives in the MN. I am also a professional but have spent the last 25 years of my life working in the IT industry. I have used email and various other computer based communications throughout this period. This note is some reflections on my experience of how communications can get distorted and meanings misinterpreted if you are not very careful. I am sorry if this sounds like a statement of the obvious but believe me it is not for many people. This is evidenced by a number of recent exchanges on SN that I have read with a sinking heart and which has prompted me to write this.

When you speak to someone face to face, a great deal of the communication is non-verbal. You pick up on whether a person is joking, whether they are angry, being ironic etc. from body posture and facial expressions. That ain't there with email, bulletin boards etc. - all that is left is the words.

The English language is an exquisite tool for communication - expressive, flexible, extensible and precise (or sloppy); and also ambiguous and capable of misinterpretation. How many times have you said something to a partner or friend and they have taken offence because they interpreted it differently to what you intended to say? I have to admit that in my case it is too many times to mention, and I like to think I am careful with language. That is what I meant by the title of this thread - and indeed was the message of the song from which it comes.