Port Alma Queensland

Peter Eckford
26th March 2006, 10:02
I believe that Port Alma, Queensland qualifies as a place of interest. The MV
Wairangi , on which I was an apprentice, arrived there in mid 1939.
It was several miles up a mangrove fringed river. The Port consisted of a
wooden quay & warehouse. The rail lines on the wharf went off in a straight line towards the horizon. The cargo of bales of hides and casks of tallow
arrived by train daily, also all the dock labour. The came from many miles up country. We had great fun playing cricket on the mudflats.
I would be interested to hear what it is like nowadays.

Peter E.

Mark Taxis
28th March 2006, 12:22
I was there 15 years ago and it had not changed
Rgds
Mark

trotterdotpom
28th March 2006, 13:32
I actually thought Port Alma had shut down as a port but looking at the internet there seems to be a bit going on. None of the old Blue Star, Port Line meat business happening though. The locals in Rockhampton must be eating it all.

John T.

J Boyde
29th March 2006, 10:02
Good place for shark fishing while lying the pick waiting for a berth. You were right, a great view of mangroes. Never sailed with anyone who went up the line. Not berthed there very long, we dischharged new print.
Jim B (Applause) (Thumb)

Ulf Harrison
29th March 2006, 21:32
Nice place to studying sandflies on. I think some 10 years ago or so the police court and arrested a small coaster attempting to bring out a large amount of drug (or otherwise illegal obtained money) to bring to some overseas destination. The owner of the ship was (they say) from NSW central coast, Coffs Harbour or Ballina or somewhere there. He got court and ended up in jail for a long time. Does someone else know anything about it. It must have been the most exiting that ever has happened in that place. I was there in 1973 and what I can remember of that place is the same as Peter Eckford describes.

Ulf H

Neil McInnes
29th March 2006, 21:53