Yewbank, Laurelbank

Cyberzia
19th April 2006, 00:41
I was a Radio Officer on these two Bank Line ships circa 1964/65 sailing worldwide routes and had a very interesting time to say the least. Is anyone still around who served on these vessels?

pete
19th April 2006, 04:11
Sailed on the Laurel 12/4/65 until 18/5/66 Master W.W.Creber. South Pacific, Nauru, Bangladesh/India and of course East and South Africa (Playhouse,Durban.......yum yum). My first trip with BL as 3/O then pushed up to 2/O. Fun Time...........................pete

david harrod
20th April 2006, 15:22
I sailed on the Laurel for a short time reound PNG to finish my time, late '67 I think, can't remember who was the old man; I paid off in Rabaul and flew to Fremantle via evry airpotr in PNG and Australia

R58484956
20th April 2006, 15:59
Welcome Cyberzia to the site enjoy it and all it has to offer.

soapy
20th April 2006, 23:30
did my first trip on the Yewbank , joined in hong kong , Sept'66,Capt. rutherford in command.ten month's later transferred to Avonbank in H.K. Capt.J.smith. down to pacific islands,loaded for home,paid-off in Liverpool Nov'67.a great time.stayed with Bank Line until July'76.,
regards to all ex bank line lads out there,soapy.

Tad
4th January 2007, 15:30
Hi! I was Sparks on the Laurelbank Dec 72 until June 73 running India, Sri Lanka, East and South Africa, Indonesia and Europe.
Crew list for that voyage
Capt. Carl Johnson and Wife
C/O Don Sutherland
2/O Dave Bunker
3/O Hugh Thomas
C/E Ghosh Dastidar
2/E Jimmy Dirks
3/E Tony Horsefall
4/E John Charters
5/E Willy Lozowy
6/E Mark Beale
1/Elect Bruce Buchan
2/Elect John Done
Dk Cdts Bob Thomas & Dick Ireland

Finally last but not least Bill the cat. A fine robust ginger fellow.
I thought Bill was a bit of a stange name for a cat but found out
later that the word for cat in Hindi and Urdu is "Billi" so it must have
been via the Indian crew that he got his name

K urgess
4th January 2007, 15:39
Hi, Tad.